In June 2019, SSBH hosted a delegation from the Cooperation Council for the Arab States. The council is a regional intergovernmental political and economic union of Arab states comprising Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates. The purpose of this official visit was to learn about establishing a seed bank. The Cooperation Council has plans to initiate a seed bank that incorporates collections from the six council countries.